Holidays in Australia 2020

Holidays and Observances in Australia in 2018

Date Weekday Name Holiday Type
Jan 1 Monday New Year’s Day National
Jan 6 Saturday Epiphany Christian
Jan 7 Sunday Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox
Jan 14 Sunday Orthodox New Year Orthodox
Jan 26 Friday Australia Day National
Jan 31 Wednesday Tu B’Shevat (Arbor Day) Jewish
Feb 12 Monday Royal Hobart Regatta State
Feb 13 Tuesday Carnival/Shrove Tuesday Christian
Feb 14 Wednesday Ash Wednesday Christian
Feb 14 Wednesday Valentine’s Day Observance
Feb 16 Friday Chinese New Year Observance
Mar 1 Thursday Purim Jewish
Mar 5 Monday Labour Day Common State
Mar 12 Monday Labour Day Common State
Mar 12 Monday Eight Hours Day Common State
Mar 12 Monday Adelaide Cup State
Mar 12 Monday Canberra Day State
Mar 17 Saturday St Patrick’s Day Observance
Mar 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
Mar 21 Wednesday Harmony Day Observance
Mar 25 Sunday Palm Sunday Christian
Mar 29 Thursday Maundy Thursday Christian
Mar 30 Friday Good Friday National
Mar 31 Saturday First day of Passover Jewish
Mar 31 Saturday Daylight Saving Time ends Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Mar 31 Saturday Holy Saturday Common State holiday
Apr 1 Sunday Easter Day State Holiday
Apr 1 Sunday Easter Day Observance
Apr 2 Monday Easter Monday National
Apr 3 Tuesday Easter Tuesday State Holiday
Apr 6 Friday Orthodox Good Friday Orthodox
Apr 7 Saturday Last day of Passover Jewish holiday
Apr 7 Saturday Orthodox Holy Saturday Orthodox
Apr 8 Sunday Orthodox Easter Orthodox
Apr 9 Monday Orthodox Easter Monday Orthodox
Apr 11 Wednesday Yom HaShoah Jewish
Apr 13 Friday Isra and Mi’raj Muslim
Apr 19 Thursday Yom HaAtzmaut Jewish holiday
Apr 25 Wednesday ANZAC Day National
May 3 Thursday Lag B’Omer Jewish
May 7 Monday May Day Common State holiday
May 10 Thursday Ascension Day Christian
May 13 Sunday Mother’s Day Observance
May 16 Wednesday Ramadan start Muslim
May 20 Sunday Pentecost Christian
May 20 Sunday Shavuot Jewish holiday
May 21 Monday Whit Monday Christian
May 26 Saturday National Sorry Day Observance
May 27 Sunday Trinity Sunday Christian
May 28 Monday Reconciliation Day State Holiday
May 31 Thursday Corpus Christi Christian
Jun 4 Monday Western Australia Day Common State holiday
Jun 6 Wednesday Queensland Day Local observance
Jun 10 Sunday Laylatul Qadr (Night of Power) Muslim
Jun 11 Monday Queen’s Birthday Common State holiday
Jun 15 Friday Eid ul Fitr Muslim
Jun 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
Jul 8 Sunday First Day of NAIDOC Week Observance
Jul 22 Sunday Tisha B’Av Jewish
Aug 6 Monday New South Wales Bank Holiday State Holiday
Aug 6 Monday Northern Territory Picnic Day State Holiday
Aug 15 Wednesday Assumption of Mary Christian
Aug 15 Wednesday Royal National Agricultural Show Day Queensland State Holiday
Aug 22 Wednesday Eid ul Adha Muslim
Sep 2 Sunday Father’s Day Observance
Sep 10 Monday Rosh Hashana Jewish
Sep 12 Wednesday Muharram/Islamic New Year Muslim
Sep 19 Wednesday Yom Kippur Jewish
Sep 23 Sunday September equinox Season
Sep 24 Monday First day of Sukkot Jewish
Sep 24 Monday Queen’s Birthday Common State holiday
Sep 28 Friday AFL Grand Final Friday State Holiday
Sep 30 Sunday Hoshana Rabbah Jewish
Oct 1 Monday Shemini Atzeret Jewish
Oct 1 Monday Queen’s Birthday Common State holiday
Oct 1 Monday Labour Day Common State holiday
Oct 2 Tuesday Simchat Torah Jewish
Oct 4 Thursday Feast of St Francis of Assisi Christian
Oct 6 Saturday Daylight Saving Time starts Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Oct 31 Wednesday Halloween Observance
Nov 1 Thursday All Saints’ Day Christian
Nov 2 Friday All Souls’ Day Christian
Nov 5 Monday Recreation Day State Holiday
Nov 6 Tuesday Melbourne Cup Day State Holiday
Nov 7 Wednesday Diwali/Deepavali Observance
Nov 11 Sunday Remembrance Day Observance
Nov 21 Wednesday Prophet’s Birthday Muslim
Dec 2 Sunday First Sunday of Advent Observance
Dec 3 Monday First Day of Hanukkah Jewish
Dec 8 Saturday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian
Dec 10 Monday Last day of Hanukkah Jewish
Dec 21 Friday December Solstice Season
Dec 24 Monday Christmas Eve Observance
Dec 25 Tuesday Christmas Day National
Dec 26 Wednesday Boxing Day National
Dec 31 Monday New Year’s Eve Observance

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.